oFear - Anxiety and Phobia Forum
Fear of Taking a Shower or bath - Printable Version

+- oFear - Anxiety and Phobia Forum (http://www.ofear.com)
+-- Forum: List of Phobias (/f-list-of-phobias)
+--- Forum: Other phobias (/f-other-phobias)
+--- Thread: Fear of Taking a Shower or bath (/t-fear-of-taking-a-shower-or-bath)

Pages: 1 2 3

Fear of Taking a Shower or bath - Ravin - 10-27-2008 01:15 PM

Ok, No it isn't a Water Phobia.
This is a Fear of taking a shower or bath ONLY in my own home. Oops
I can go away on vacation and have No Problem
taking one in any Motel or a relatives home.
It never ever bothered me until I was losing my baby in 1992.
Now, during Stress, Trauma, Crisis etc:
my nerves go crazy ( I have Panic/Anxiety/PTSD ) and
it comes back out of the blue :roll:Any ideas? ssad

Re: Fear of Taking a Shower or bath - LaurLuv86 - 10-31-2008 02:00 AM

I am not an expert but there must be something emotional tied in with the bath tub in your home. You said it happened after you lost your baby which is very hard. I am so sorry to hear that. You might remember something symbolic between the bath tub and the sad event that occured. I go to a psychologist that does desensitization techniques with me to help eliviate my fear. You should look it up. They teach you relaxation and in VERY little steps expose you to your fear until eventually you aren't as afraid anymore. I must say it does work. I used to pass out in a particular restaurant my old friends loved to go to. I would get so nervous, go to the bathroom , and pass out. Through going through desensitization techniques I am now able to sit in there and eat a meal. Even though I may feel a bit anxious when Im there. It is NOTHING compared to the fear I used to experience. I hope this helps some. If you ever want to chat, I am on here everyday now. Big Grin

Re: Fear of Taking a Shower or bath - Ravin - 10-31-2008 04:35 AM

LaurLuv
Thank you so much for this.